Honorary Members

Honorary Members of the Angus McIntosh Centre for Historical Linguistics

Name / WebAffiliation
Professor Philip BennettProfessor Emeritus and Honorary fellow, University of Edinburgh
Professor Michael BenskinUniversity of Oslo
Dr Ian DoyleUniversity of Durham (retired)
Dr Philip DurkinPrincipal Etymologist, Oxford English Dictionary
Dr Vasilios KaraiskosSchool of Infomatics, University of Edinburgh
Dr Margaret LaingHonorary Fellow, University of Edinburgh
Professor Roger LassHonorary Professorial Fellow, University of Edinburgh
Professor Robert LewisProfessor Emeritus, University of Michigan
Dr Margaret MackayHonorary Fellow, University of Edinburgh
Professor Donka MinkovaUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Professor Geoffrey PullumUniversity of Edinburgh
Dr Christine RobinsonFormer Director, Scottish Language Dictionaries
Dr Karina WilliamsonHonorary Fellow, University of Edinburgh
Dr Keith WilliamsonUniversity of Edinburgh (retired)

We acknowledge with great sadness the passing, in May 2016, of Professor Christian Kay, Honorary Professorial Research Fellow, University of Glasgow, and Honorary Member of the AMC since its inception. Professor Kay’s obituary can be viewed here (Obituary – Christian Kay, Glasgow professor who created the world’s largest thesaurus (From Herald Scotland)). A Tribute by her colleague Professor Marc Alexander may also be viewed here (University of Glasgow – MyGlasgow – Campus e-News – Christian Kay – a tribute).